The Mary Alice and Philip Boucher Book Prize

and the

Alf Andrew Heggoy Book Prize


The French Colonial Historical Society awards two book prizes annually for the best volumes published in the preceding year.

  • The Boucher prize is awarded in honor of long time members and active supporters Mary Alice and Philip Boucher, and recognizes the best book dealing with the French colonial experience from the 16th century to 1815.
  • The Heggoy prize is awarded in honor of one of the Society’s founding members, Alf Andrew Heggoy, and recognizes the best book dealing with the French colonial experience from 1815 to the present.

For both prizes, books from any academic discipline will be considered, providing that they approach the French colonial experience from an historical perspective.

The deadline for this year’s submissions is March 1, 2017. Questions about the submission process should be addressed to Dr. Ruth Ginio, Chair of the FCHS Book Prize Committee, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Applicants or their publishers should submit four copies of books published in 2016 (date of publication is determined by the copyright page of the book), one to each of the book prize committee members. Please make sure to indicate clearly that the submission is for the Boucher/Heggoy.


Book Prize Committee for 2016-2017 Awards

Dr. Ruth Ginio
Department of General History
Ben Gurion University of the Negev
P.O.B. 653
Be'er Sheva 84105

Dr. Jean-François Brière
Department of Languages, Literatures & Cultures, HU. 235
University at Albany/SUNY
1400 Washington Avenue
Albany NY 12222
Dr. Brett Rushforth
History Department
College of William and Mary
PO BOX 8795
Williamsburg, VA 23187-8795
Dr. Charles Keith
Department of History
Michigan State University
211 Old Horticulture Hall
506 E. Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824


This year's awards will be announced at the annual conference of the French Colonial Historical Society in Aix-en-Provence. For last year's Boucher Prize winner please click here. For last year’s Heggoy Prize winner please click here. Past prize recipients can be viewed here.